Motivation to Take the Next Step

Watercolour drawing of Ganesha

Ganesha – The Remover of Obstacles

At the beginning of the last week I was feeling down, despondent, wanting to draw and paint in theory, but unable to find the motivation to do it in practice. I kept on wondering what is the point; wouldn’t it be easier just to spend my days paying more attention to the household chores and my children and the evenings relaxing with a nice book; is this the right time to want to learn more, to strive to produce something greater? I did curl up on the couch and read gorgeously illustrated, somewhat melancholy and beautifully magical “East of the Sun, West of the Moon” by Jackie Morris when I came across this line:

“You have traveled far, but the hardest part of a journey is always the next step.”
Jackie Morris, East of the Sun, West of the Moon

It felt like it was said directly to me and somehow this acknowledgement by someone else that taking the next step isn’t necessary going to become any easier with time was the right push for me to start painting again. The first painting wasn’t all that successful, but there was one part of it, which I liked, and I attempted another one, which worked better.
Watercolour of Flowers (Ranunculus)

4 thoughts on “Motivation to Take the Next Step

  1. Jodi

    You just described ME last week too! I was starting to think that my art was meaningless and empty beside the monumental task of child-rearing and was also fantasising about spending my evenings winding down instead of painting (which is enjoyable, yes, but in a much more active way than say, reading, which is pure recreation for me). I have come out the other side now but I very much like your quote. There are hard steps the WHOLE of the way, not just the beginning, and it will always be like that and it’s just a matter of always forging forward… And your painting is gorgeous.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Oh Jodi, from far away you seem to be so energetic and optimistic and progressing so well with becoming a professional artist. Thank you for sharing that you have doubts and bad weeks as well. It is good to be reminded that we are all human.

      Reply
  2. beastlyworlds

    This is so lovely! It’s hard to get yourself going sometimes, even when you so much want to. Beautiful painting, and I really like your sketchbook drawings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

