Out of the mouth of babes

I was pondering about what type of artist I would like to be and what type of painting I should concentrate on for now and to avoid sinking deeper and deeper into the confusion decided to get a second opinion. The only other artistically inclined person around was my almost seven-year-old daughter.
“If you had to choose between being a fine artist or a book illustrator, which one would you choose?”
She answered without any hesitation “The book illustrator.”
Surprised at the quickness of her response I wanted to know why.
“Because I already illustrated a book,” she replied in the matter-of-fact tone.
True, she painted pictures in few little books I made for her by folding and sewing together watercolour pages. I had to laugh at the drastic difference between her confident simple logic and my own hesitant and muddled thinking. Maybe making the choice should be as simple as trying out what I think I may like to do, to find out what I actually enjoy doing most.

2 thoughts on “Out of the mouth of babes

  1. anniekitching

    Love it! Well, I’d also say – illustrator. I guess the reason is because there is such a question about what “fine” art is….and so much in the way of politics, too. I was hearing someone talk about this on the BBC, and they just confirmed what I’d always suspected.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Annie, I think of you as a storyteller and I think you would write lovely stories with gentle humour if you had more time and if life wasn’t as hard as it is for you now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

