Drawing again

I didn’t paint or sketch much lately, mostly because I wouldn’t even think of it when there was an available moment and often would forget to bring my sketchbook, especially after I finished the small hand*book journal, which I usually kept in my bag. During one of the first nights in Cape Town I dreamt of painting: of dipping the brush into water, loading it with the watercolour paint, putting it down on a nice textured heavy paper, moving the colours around and watching them flow and interact. When I woke up I could almost feel the brush in my hand. Yet I didn’t feel confident enough to pick up a brush and start painting after a month long break, so I got myself a cheap unlined A4 exercise book and restarted daily sketching.
Pen sketch of sleeping cat
Since I sketched on both sides of the thin paper there was no pretensions at aiming to achieve something special, no negative thoughts at the back of my mind slowing me down, no hesitation at putting the lines on paper due to the fear of spoiling whatever was already there.
pen sketch of ducks and rooster

Faber-Castell PITT pen (F) in Moleskine sketchbook (Portrait 9×14 cm)

Just before leaving London I bought a new Moleskine sketchbook, which I now always bring with me whenever I go outside. Slowly the habit of noticing the free intervals for sketching returned. I remembered that it keeps me happily occupied while the kids play at the playground or the youngest dawdles on our walks to explore whatever is underfoot.
Sketch of rooster

Faber-Castell PITT pen (F) and colour pencils in Moleskine sketchbook (Portrait 9×14 cm)

Sketching
I even got around to doing some watercolour sketching beside a stream in the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden.
Pen & watercolour sketch of a stream

Faber-Castell PITT pen (F) and watercolour in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook (Landscape 21×13 cm)

7 thoughts on “Drawing again

  1. anniekitching

    Oh, I just love that last one! I have NO leisure in my life. None….except I have been teaching Art at Zhenya’s school and since there are only six students I sit with them at the table and “model” (ha-ha) how they should be working. It is such a lovely opportunity.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Annie, I’m so glad you get a chance to “model” practicing art. Your dedication to your children and the amount of love and care that you give them are amazing and inspiring. However, I hope that one day you’ll have the time and opportunity to give some of that love and care to yourself and to pursue some of the things you love doing.

      Reply
  2. Jodi

    I love your sketches – especially that last one. It’s so lovely and fluid. I am aiming for something like daily sketching at the moment too and I have to thank you for my hand*book journal – it has been something of a revelation. I don’t know why I haven’t used a pocketbook-size journal up until this point but I’m not sure I could go back now. I love how it fits into a little compartment in my bag, right next to my mobile phone. I know I will never forget it at home and it’s not a burden to carry. And the size itself is perfect for quick sketches. Thank you so much! Also, I just love that photo of you and the kids 🙂 I hope you continue to enjoy your break and find sketching time in your days. I have been very lax but an email is heading your way soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

