Home

Watercolour sketch of eucalyptus leaves

My pale imitation of Eucalyptus leaves using Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook (Landscape 21×13 cm)

In England I thought of Australia as home. While preparing for the move I was worried that I’ll be disappointed on my return, that I’ll feel like a stranger in a strange land. I didn’t grow up in Australia. I’ve only spent 10 years here before moving to UK. I’ve been away for over nine years, during which significant events, like getting married and having two children, took place. I made new friends in UK.

And then on the flight from South Africa to Sydney I felt a profound sense of relief when I glanced Australian land from the airplane window. I was wholeheartedly happy to come back home. I believe that living in a different country helps to see the positive and negative sides of this one. I won’t like everything. I’ll notice defects and limitations, but I will also see more clearly the opportunities and the beauty. I will always love this country.
sketch of palm tree

Acrylic and watercolour in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook (Landscape 21×13 cm)

Leave a Reply

