Inspiration: Georgia O’Keeffe

“I found that I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – things that I had no words for.”
Georgia O’Keeffe

I kept on coming across the quotes by Georgia O’Keeffe that resonated with me, that seemed to express exactly how I felt. Eventually I decided to google her art (Yes, being brought up surrounded by a totally different art, I was complete unfamiliar with her work). Seeing her paintings made me pause and hold my breath in the same way that the Egon Schiele’s assured lines did when I first discovered his drawings in Vienna. Such simplicity, such purity of colour, such beauty. I was lucky enough to see three of her works in Sydney in the “America: Painting a nation” exhibition. I spent quite a while staring at the gradation of colour in her “Red and Orange streak” painting. I wish I could see her other original paintings and not their pale reproductions online and in the books. In part trudging through the exercises in Arthur Wesley Dow “Composition” is my attempt to understand her work better as it is said that she was influenced by his teachings.

Copy of Georgia O'Keeffe's watercolour  "Morning sky with houses"
My copy of Georgia O’Keeffe’s watercolour “Morning sky with houses”

Leave a Reply

