Inspiration: John Wolseley

While in Bendigo we had a quick look at the Bendigo Art Gallery. I’ll have to come back for a slower look around. However in this short visit one work stood out for me – The Language of Lizards by John Wolseley. I liked the background of charcoal marks and watercolour, the carefully executed drawings, the possibilities of painting and drawing on the watercolour paper that size (it’s 56 x 284 cm) and maybe the subject matter caught my attention because of my own recent sketches of lizards. Few years ago I probably would’ve said with jealousy and frustration “I could’ve done that if I only had time to paint or studied art or…”. Now I know better, I understand the commitment required to achieve the representation of one’s world vision on paper, so I look and attempt to understand why and how and feel inspired to keep on painting.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration: John Wolseley

  1. Naomi Bulger

    I’ve been looking around your lovely blog and I really enjoy how visual you are, how you seem to find art in most things. Also, my husband’s family is from Bendigo so we are there a lot. It is a lovely, friendly, historic town. And if there are parts of melbourne you miss, it’s a quick drive back as you say, or there’s even the train. One of these days we may bump into you over wines on the balcony of the Shamrock. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Thank you for your kind words.

      Bendigo does seem to be a lovely town and I’m looking forward to exploring it and the surroundings, which doesn’t stop me from complaining about having to pack everything yet again 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

