4/30 – Going large

Watercolour palette
I used up the tube of W&N Cotman Lemon Yellow Hue and have only small amount of Cerulean Blue left. I’m kicking myself for not stocking up on the art supplies back in London as they are more expensive here. I did buy 9 tubes of Winsor & Newton watercolour, which is considered to be better grade than their Cotman range, but I’m still debating if I want to use them in my daily sketching or save them for the larger paintings.
Irises and daffodils
Last night I cut some irises and daffodils only to realise that I’ll need a lot of lemon yellow for daffodils. Paint something else? Or maybe just get on with painting on larger scale? So out came a large plastic palette, out came Winsor & Newton watercolour tubes and out came not so large pad of Saunders Watterford cold-pressed watercolour paper (16″x12″).
Watercolour palette
I worked wet-into-wet and had so much fun: it was definitely one of those “it’s the journey and not the destination that matters” moments. At some point I was staring at the unfinished painting knowing that I need to add some darks, but feeling really tired and knowing that I was no longer making good decisions, so decided to call it a day.
Watercolour of irises and daffodils

7 thoughts on “4/30 – Going large

  1. Pingback: Purple in the garden | Step, Skip, Pause

Leave a Reply

