9/30 – Splash!

I’m definitely at the reluctant stage of the 30 paintings in 30 days challenge: “I’m so tired. Can’t I just skip one day? I so much would love to have a break from painting every night. Why am I doing this?”. Funny thing is once I sit down to paint all these thoughts fly away and I completely loose track of time.

Last night to overcome the reluctance I decided to give myself the freedom to simply play with the watercolour, splash it about, let it do its own thing. I started putting the colour on the wet paper without any preliminary drawing and as the paper dried I kept on adding more and more paint, defining shapes, enjoying the process of seeing what will appear.
Watercolour of primroses

Primroses painted with Winsor & Newton watercolour on Fabriano cold pressed watercolour paper (12.5 x 18 cm)

Today I’ll need to paint the 10th painting and once it is done I’ll be one-third through the challenge. Somehow knowing this makes it easier to keep on going.

6 thoughts on “9/30 – Splash!

    1. anniekitching

      That wasn’t intended as a criticism of the other paintings…. I am not even sure which I’d prefer to look at often. I just know that this one has some liveliness that the others don’t quite have. (Maybe it is just that the flowers fill the entire space?)

      Reply
      1. Zoya Post author

        Annie, please don’t worry about sounding critical. I know that you always have good intentions and I am always grateful for your feedback.

Leave a Reply

