17/30 – A break

Yesterday my 3.5 year old son conceded that I have a name. Previously he would get upset at any mention of me having any other label than his mum: “You are mummy. I call you mummy!” On the same day he told me that “Mummies can’t be artists, because they don’t have any pencils”. This one amused me greatly, because it definitely only works in a three-year-old logic as he knows how many pencils I own.
Quick pen sketch of a child
I didn’t paint or draw in the evening yesterday. I was feeling tired and jaded (not with the painting, but with the attempting to fit in yet another new place) and knew that I needed a break. I feel much better for it today. I did do a few quick gestural sketches of my son at the playground yesterday though – they had to be quick as he is always moving around.

2 thoughts on “17/30 – A break

    1. Zoya Post author

      Ruth, thank you. Mostly it’s been good and we made some friends, but occasionally I have an “off” day and just want to hide under the duvet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

