Urban Sketching at Botanical Gardens

On Saturday I made it to the Melbourne Urban Sketchers meetup at the Royal Botanical Gardens. I haven’t been for over four months and I was missing the group: the comradeship; the sharing of the ideas, experiences and knowledge; the ease and comfort of sketching in public with others. The turn out was huge – maybe due to the warmer weather or maybe due to the current “Urban Sketching in Boroondara” exhibition attracting new people. As usual it was fascinating to see what everyone choose to sketch and how different everyone’s work was, even when they tackled the same subjects.
I sketched Fern Gully Rest House with another lovely lady, who works in IT – so we had something else in common to chat about.
Fern Gully Rest House: subject and sketch
Sketch: Fern Gully Rest House
Afterwards I took a slow walk towards the city, stopping at the National Gallery to look at some new exhibitions: the humorous and thought-provoking “David Shirley: Life and Life Drawing” and colourful, sparkly and fun “Express Yourself! Romance was born for kids”. (I’ll have to come back with my kids – I’m sure they’ll enjoy it as much as I did)
Self at Express Yourself exhibition
During the two hours train ride back home I was reading Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi’s “Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience” and relating it back to how I feel while I paint. I love painting, it makes me happy – simple admission that took me a long time to recognize and accept.
Reading 'Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience' on the train

5 thoughts on “Urban Sketching at Botanical Gardens

  1. whimseytopia

    Oh my. It is pouring out and yours is the second post I’ve read about how happiness overwhelms us when we paint. See Drawn2Life.wordpress.com post of today. I agree with everyone – nothing soothes the heart better than a day in the park painting. Love this watercolor. Very well done. Congratulations on the win/win/win of the day.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Thank you. It was a wonderful day and I’m grateful for finally accepting that painting brings me happiness, so now I can spend more time doing it 😀

      Reply
  2. anniekitching

    That sounds like a wonderful book…. If I can quiet myself to draw or paint, I certainly DO feel that! That’s why I loved the year I got to teach art – I could work quietly along with the kids for much of the time, and THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE I NEEDED TO DO. That’s the main thing; it is so hard to rest in it, because there is so much waiting in the “To Do” list.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      I stopped writing “To Do” list at some point, though at the moment I feel that not having one only makes things worse as my mind keeps on running through the things that need to be done. I’m trying to figure out a way to be more organized and to use the time I have more efficiently, so I can have time to paint.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

