In the garden: abundance

Delicious cherry
There are two young cherry trees at the front of the house. They produced a handful of cherries, which the kids ate excitedly. I loved seeing their happy faces and thought that I should buy a wider variety of fruit, some of which I perceive as being expensive, for them more often as a special treat. Why do sugary cakes, biscuits and lollies often tempt me instead?
Cherries on a tree
Like most Russian families when I was a child we had a dacha where my parents grew vegetables and fruit. So while fresh fruit and veg weren’t available all year around, there were parts of the year when they were abundant, but cakes, biscuits and chocolates were rarely bought or made. I miss that seasonal abundance of fruit and vegetables.
Young growing apple
My kids are growing up being able to buy many types of fruit and vegetables from the supermarket at any time of the year, but they haven’t experienced the cycle of caring for the plants to be rewarded with the huge crop, of being able to gather the cherries or apricots or apples and eat as much as one wants and have plenty left over to be shared with friends and to be preserved for winter.
Growing plums
It is a different kind of abundance from the supermarket one – an abundance enriched by work, by intention, by the connection to the land and the nature and the seasons. Somehow I need to get my kids to spend more time outside with me gardening and learning about this land and this climate.
Watercolour sketch of one corner of my garden

Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour sketch in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook (Landscape 21×13 cm)

4 thoughts on “In the garden: abundance

  1. ruthsplace

    How wonderful to have a cherry tree or two in your garden. A and I were talking today about how cherries were a special Christmas treat for me when I was a kid growing up.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Ruth, that sounds like a wonderful Christmas tradition. I think I’ll have to create some new ones for my family to reflect the upside-down seasons. 🙂

      Reply
  2. whimseytopia

    I just finished reading your “about” and am wondering how you got from Russia to Australia. Are you a teacher? I ask because you often write about philosophical subjects. I enjoy reading your posts and particularly enjoy seeing your art. This one in particular is lovely because we’re headed into winter and it’s been really cold lately. Thanks for posting. Patsye

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Oh, I probably should re-read my own “about” page as well and update it. My parents moved to Australia when I was almost 16 and I came with them.
      Nope, not a teacher – teaching kids and young adults totally terrifies me, though I think I could find teaching older people fascinating. I used to work in IT as a programmer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

