Record of Friday

Watercolour of friday tea

Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour in Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook (14.0 x 21.6 cm)

On Friday I went to the Bendigo Art Gallery since I haven’t been there for awhile. Paul Guest Prize for the contemporary Australian drawings is currently on and contains many impressive drawings that made me want to work even harder to improve my own drawing skills. The gallery shop had T2 tea on sale and I couldn’t resist getting a box of the Gunpowder Green to try.

I was craving the raisin buns and upon my return home modified Cherry and Hazelnut twists recipe from Bread book by Anne Sheasby to make some. It’s the fourth recipe I made from this book and they all turned out delicious. It’s such a joy to have the established routines again that include such simple, but peaceful and enjoyable tasks like baking my own bread.

The strawberries seems to be in season at the moment and my husband brought some home.

On Saturday I decided to combine all of the above to create a sketch to remind me of this calm day. The Japaneses teapot and bowls set was gifted to me long time ago and is one of the few truly beautiful items I own. It is a pleasure to look at and bowls are wonderful to hold and make a simple cup of tea more special and magical. I want to include them into some still-life paintings, so this was a good first practice run.

5 thoughts on “Record of Friday

  1. Sherry Chen

    Hi there, I think your sketching looks great, and you’ve got such interesting pieces, so I’m following! 🙂
    I really enjoy your posts and look forward to your next.
    Feel free to check out my writing about publishing: publishinginsights.org
    Sherry

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Thank you. Stillman & Birn sketchbooks are wonderful to work in with watercolour and the results always look much better than they would on cheaper paper – so worth mentioning to others 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

