Happy 2015!

Ink & watercolour sketch of Christmas Tree

First sketch of 2015: Bendigo Christmas Tree. Lamy Safari pen with DeAtramentis Archive Ink and Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour in Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook (14.0 x 21.6 cm)

Yesterday was a very normal day for me: my husband went to work, I took the kids to a playdate and later we did various everyday things around the house and went to bed at the usual time instead of staying up to great 2015. And yet all this week I felt that one stage of my life is coming to a close and that it is the perfect time to start planning for the future. In 2014 (and also, if I’m truthful with myself, in 2013) lots of my physical and emotional energy was spent on moving to Australia and settling in. In 2015 I want to spend more time on learning, drawing and painting. Most of my plans are still very vague, but I’ll share them with you as I’ll progress in my attempts to pinpoint and flesh them out with all the important details of why and how and when.

When I started this blog in August 2012 I wrote in my ‘About’ page: “I tend to start and stop, to skip from one interest to another. This time around I want to keep on going: to improve my drawing skills, to learn to paint with the watercolours, to produce something I feel proud of and would be happy to hang on my walls.” In August of this year a friend posted a photo of my painting in her house and I realised that I achieved my simple wish – not only I have my paintings hanging on my walls, but there are few people around the world, who are happy to have them on their walls. So it is definitely time to set new goals and to aim higher.

Did you already make New Years resolutions or set yourself some goals for 2015?

I wish you success in achieving all your goals and a gentle, productive and fun 2015!

7 thoughts on “Happy 2015!

    1. Zoya Post author

      Thank you. After 9 years in London it is strange to have palm trees next to the Christmas trees and makes me wonder if it is worth creating some new family traditions/celebrations that are more suitable to Southern hemisphere.

      Reply
  1. whimseytopia

    I am so happy for you, and all those with whom you share your journey (which includes me!). This is going to be a wonderful year for us all. You wait and see!!!!! Patsye p.s. Can’t wait to get back to painting and blogging, but a room renovation has kept me on a ladder. I’ll be back soon.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Patsye, I’m looking forward to discovering what this year brings to all of us and seeing all the paintings that we’ll create.
      Best of luck with the renovations.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

