Iris

A friend asked for one of my iris sketches and I promised it to her before realising that it was the one done in my Moleskine sketchbook. Since I didn’t want to take out a page from the sketchbook, I offered to paint another one based on the photos and the sketch. I don’t usually paint from photos, there is something magical about being able to touch and smell the flowers while painting them, but I was glad to have an incentive for painting and enjoyed it immensely. I hope she likes it.
Watercolour of Iris

Winsor & Newton watercolour on Fabriano cold pressed watercolour paper (12.5 x 18 cm)

17 thoughts on “Iris

  1. whimseytopia

    Wow. Once again you’ve impressed us all. This is good enough to be an illustration in a botanical magazine, or a text book. So much detail. You’re sooooo talented; I mean it! Patsye

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Patsye, thank you. Of course, since I’m the one who painted it, I can see all the mistakes and imperfections. We are always our own harshest critics, aren’t we? 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: New creations from old paintings | Step, Skip, Pause

Leave a Reply

