Feather Collection

My small collection of feathers
I’ve been collecting feathers lately. I find it hard to walk past a feather without picking it up – they are all unique and beautiful. Some are easy to connect to the names of the birds: white & yellow of a Cockatoo, black & white of an Australian Magpie, grey & pink of a Gallah. Others remain nameless.

If I like something I end up sketching it (or at least day-dreaming about how I would try to capture it on paper) and lately I’ve been sketching feathers.
Watercolour of two feathers

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard (100 x 148 mm)

Watercolour of a feather

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard (100 x 148 mm)

Watercolour painting of two yellow and white Cockatoo feathers

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches Medium Watercolour paper (185gsm, 148 x 210 mm)

Watercolour painting of two feathers

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches Medium Watercolour paper (185gsm, 148 x 210 mm)

I seem to gift away these little paintings faster than I can paint them and so I made another one in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook to make sure I’ll have some record left to remind myself of these time of painting feathers.
Watercolour sketch of feathers and autumn leaf

Winsor & Newton watercolours in Moleskine watercolour sketchbook (Landscape 130 x 210 mm)

3 thoughts on “Feather Collection

Leave a Reply

