First day of spring

In the morning the grass was covered in frost. Yet the sky was breathtakingly blue and the day slowly warmed up. I got out into the garden to prepare the garden beds and to plant peas.
Spring Blossoms Watercolour

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard (A6)

The sun shone, the birds flitted about, the bees buzzed in the blossoms-covered tree and I shed layers of jumpers as I worked.
Spring Blossoms Watercolour

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard (A6)

For weeks there were signs of spring coming: first daffodils, occasional glimpse of a butterfly, hanging the washing outside for the first time in weeks, magpies gathering together and singing their beautiful songs.
Sketchbook pages - Signs of Spring

Winsor & Newton watercolours in Strathmore 400 Series sketchbook (21.6 x 27.9 cm)

And now everything is bursting with new life, flowers, noise. I’m so glad to welcome you back spring.

16 thoughts on “First day of spring

    1. Zoya Post author

      Ruth, thank you. While staying in Queensland last summer for the few weeks, I realised that I prefer the milder climate with seasonal changes. You are right, spring here in Central Victoria is goregous

      Reply
      1. ruthsplace

        Especially the roses! I miss roses, though in the tropics we do get good orchids, so that’s some compensation 😀

        On Wed, Sep 2, 2015 at 6:39 PM, Step, Skip, Pause wrote:

        > Zoya commented: “Ruth, thank you. While staying in Queensland last summer > for the few weeks, I realised that I prefer the milder climate with > seasonal changes. You are right, spring here in Central Victoria is > goregous”

      2. Zoya Post author

        I’ll have to paint some roses for you once they are in bloom. My favourite flowers are tulips. Kicking myself for not planting some in winter.

      3. Zoya Post author

        We have a sea of daffodils at the moment (planted by the owners of the house). 🙂 I’m sure there are many amazing flowers and plants where you are.

  1. anniekitching

    I was wandering around the house the other day, thinking of you and thought “I’m so glad she settled on painting; she has an amazing talent.” It is sad that we can’t do everything – and all your creative things around the house – sewing and so forth, were amazing…. But, the ability to paint in watercolor is just so much more rare.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Annie, thank you. I’m trying to sneak some crocheting into my days. I’m making a blanket for a friend’s baby – I suspect she will be a toddler before I’m finished. I also would love to knit an occasional item for my kids (somehow I feel it makes them feel loved) and yes, I would love to do sewing, but I’m such a beginner in it that it takes me too long to sew even a simplest of things. I’m hoping to have more time for these pursuits when I’m older.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

