When life gives lemons

I paint them!
Watercolour of two lemons

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard

The box of lemons is back and this time there were quite a few with the leaves and branches still attached – I guess the owners of the lemon tree decided that this painter prefers them that way (how I would love to get my hands on some oranges or mandarins with leaves). Of course I had to grab some and paint them. Then, once I’m finished with painting, I’ll make some lemon poppy-seed muffins.
Watercolour postcard-sized painting of lemons

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Daler-Rowney watercolour postcard

Not so long ago when I used to paint and draw very rarely, if a painting worked I wouldn’t paint the same subject again for the fear of creating an inferior painting compared to the successful one. Nowadays I want to paint the same subjects again and again to help me understand what works and why and to truly see the essence of what I’m painting. There is nothing like attempting to recreate something over and over again, to force one to observe it closely and to notice something new every time.

14 thoughts on “When life gives lemons

  1. Emily

    I like that idea of painting the same subject lots of times to understand what works and the essence of what you are painting. Looks like you and lemons have a great understanding ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

