Favourite flowers

I’m getting over a flu and wasn’t looking forward to painting last night, but my dear husband brought me some tulips (my favourite flowers!), which cheered me up and sent me to my desk eager to paint them. However I definitely lacked the energy to scan the result and write a blog post, so I’m posting both 16th & 17th paintings today.
Watercolour painting of tulips

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches medium watercolour paper (15 x 21 cm)

Today I had another go at painting tulips, while youngest was in childcare. I’m not very happy with this one and will try again.
Watercolour painting of tulips

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches medium watercolour paper (10.5 x 15 cm)

I also snapped a photo of our flowering Iris for Annie, because I know she likes them.
Photo of iris flower
Do you have a favourite flower? Why do you like it?

2 thoughts on “Favourite flowers

    1. Zoya Post author

      Thank you. There are many other flowers that I love as well: peonies, poppies, sunflowers, etc. Isn’t it great how varied the natural world is giving us so many good subjects for paintings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

