Outside vs Inside

Every time I sketch outside I get surprised by how many distractions there are and how much harder it is to create something. While I was painting these pansies in the garden the sun was glaring down affecting my perception of the colours; the wind kept on trying to blow away my paper (and was successful once, smudging green and purple paint); my son kept on bringing me leaves to sketch and knocked over my pens and brushes (I’m just grateful that it wasn’t the water jar).
Watercolour of pansies

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches medium watercolour paper (10.5 x 15 cm)

It is so much easier to paint inside in the evening at the comfortable desk; with some nice music thanks to ABC Jazz FM and no demands for attention.
Watercolour of eucalyptus leaves

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches medium watercolour paper (10.5 x 15 cm)

9 thoughts on “Outside vs Inside

    1. Zoya Post author

      Oh Annie, it’s a sore point as I don’t have the best light in my painting space. I guess, one should expect a different type of experience while painting outside and enjoy it for what it is.

      Reply
      1. Zoya Post author

        🙂 Since I spend a ridiculous amount of time on the instagram photos I really appreciate that you feel they enhance my paintings.

Leave a Reply

