Perfect find

Hey! How are you? I’ve been battling my MacBook this week. It’s been slow since I’ve upgraded the operating system to Yosemite earlier this year, but lately it reached ridiculous levels of painful slowness – every few minutes everything stops and I get to “enjoy” looking at the spinning “beachball” cursor, while waiting for the system to catch up. I cleaned few things up & it seems to improve matters, however the laptop is still sluggish and freezes up periodically, so I may try doing a complete OS re-install (dreading it! Can you believe I used to work in IT?!?). My husband, who still works in IT, keeps on smiling knowingly & suggesting that maybe the time has come to buy a new computer (mine is 5 years old). Wish me luck in getting this beast to work!

On one of my walks, which weren’t so numerous this week due to the sudden heat, I found another feather. It was a perfect companion to two other tiny pinkish ones, which were patiently waiting to be painted.
Watercolour of pink feathers

Winsor & Newton watercolours on Arches medium watercolour paper (10.5 x 15 cm)

It is so easy to say that this wasn’t a good week (with another mild sickness & nights of broken sleep), yet I live a comfortable life in a beautiful place with a loving family and whenever I paint I’m reminded of how lucky I am. Wishing you beauty, peace and love.

10 thoughts on “Perfect find

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash)

    Even with feeling a bit under the weather (hope you’re feeling better friend!) you created something gorgeous!!! These feathers are amazing! So delicately rendered and it looks like you could reach down and pluck one up! Wonderful work friend! 😃😃

    Reply
  2. anniekitching

    I love your paintings, but somehow when I see your photos of your paintings with the subjects – and everything so gorgeously layed-out and photographed., it is just overwhelming. The painting of the feathers is extraordinary, but the photo of the feathers and the painting too – took my breath away!

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Annie, you would laugh if you saw how long it takes me to take those cute instagram photos and how many times I have to re-arrange everything. I keep on thinking that I should try to take similar photos for the blog with my camera, but I don’t think I can afford the time at the moment – plus it is even harder (somehow iPhone flattens everything out) & I know so little about photography. Though my daughter & I are planning to learn together as she wants to buy her first camera

      Reply

Leave a Reply

