Making Christmas Cards

Making Christmas Card 2015
For few years now I was thinking of making my own Christmas cards and this year I finally did it.  I drafted an image that reflects my experience of Christmas/New Year in Australia and has some symbols traditionally associated with this time of the year (stars and a clock about to strike midnight), but also the ironwork that I see everyday and compass to help one find the right direction in life. After tweaking the drawing on thin tracing paper I transferred it to the watercolour paper, painted it (and how I wish I started making cards back in June, so I could paint few versions and choose the best), scanned, cleaned up the digital image with the help of Erik Davis, who I met on instagram, and printed the cards via VistaPrint.  Surprisingly easy, though time consuming.
Australian Christmas Card Design
Want to know the hardest part?  It is sharing my work with my family and friends.  What if they don’t like it?  What if they would rather receive a store bought card?  What if…  Yet sharing my paintings and drawings with strangers for years here on this blog and now on Instagram, helped me enormously to shut down that little scared voice and get on with wishing people a happy 2016.

12 thoughts on “Making Christmas Cards

  1. Julia

    I think it’s beautiful and I’ve been looking forward to it’s arrival well before it came 🙂

    I also can’t imagine anyone you know saying they would have rather received a store-bought card, that just seems wrong on so many levels!

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Rachel, thank you for your encouragement. I enjoyed the process of making the Christmas Cards, since I could play with combining different elements/symbols together. Maybe next year I’ll make some Birthday cards and will definitely aim to make new set of Christmas cards.

      Reply
  2. jmnowak

    Love how the gum blossoms look like delightful Christmas tree ornaments/baubles. Beautiful card and artistry, Zoya. Saw you on Doodlewash and am now Following! Cheers from South Melbourne. janina…

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Janina, thank you for your kind words. I used to live in South Melbourne awhile ago when it wasn’t trendy at all. I should visit it again one day, specially the market.

      Reply
  3. ruthsplace

    They are beautiful. I love receiving handmade gifts and cards. To be honest, the store-bought cards usually get thrown out after Christmas, but handmade are always saved.

    Reply
    1. Zoya Post author

      Ruth, thank you. You are right, I also only keep store-bought cards if the personal message written in them is thoughtful and I feel that I’d want to re-read it again at the late date.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

